My first steps…

Song to jump start my run: Happy, Natasha Bedingfield
Distance: 7.5 miles
Time: 1:03
Route: Fort Mason, Chrissy Field, Marina.

I’m taking my “first steps” and writing my first blog post. I’ve spent a lot of time reading other runner’s blogs, and it inspired me to join in on the fun. Hopefully I’ll have some fun things to share while training for my next marathon in Phoenix in 6 weeks. I’ll be running with another SF Marathon staff member, Libby while we’re in town for the Expo (The SF Marathon will have a booth). It has been awesome being able to travel over the past few months to visit other races, and we have even more exciting trips planned for 2010! I have to admit, although I’m a transplant (from the Northwest), my recent years in California have turned me into a little bit of a cold wuss. These past few weeks as the temperatures have been dropping, it’s taken a little extra motivation to get out the door. Today I slipped out of the office around lunch time to get some fresh air. I bundled up with an ear band and long sleeves and headed straight to the waterfront to my favorite running route. I’ve run it countless times, but it is still what I call “my happy place”.
az
Along Chrissy Field, the dirt path with people running, walking their dogs, the beach, sailboats, the view of the Golden Gate Bridge, it’s breathtaking every time. It was a nice flat run, steady pace, and I had a nice hill to climb on my way back to work.

Of course I’ve always said I’m most inspired during a good run, so as soon as I returned, I immediately started plugging away designing the 2010 Official Race Merchandise. It’s a fun process and I can’t wait to see how all of the pieces look when we get them in January. I also placed our order with American Apparel– we’ve been working with them for years, they have such comfortable fabrics and we love that they are socially conscientious.

Later I headed home to find my roommate cooking dinner- butternut squash! It’s my favorite since by body seems to crave potassium and it’s packed with nutrients. So easy- we just popped it in the oven for 45 minutes and it was DELICIOUS. Overall, it was a great day. tomorrow: cross training- either bikram, spin class, or weight lifting (my least favorite!)… So many options!
sabrina

Leave a Reply

