Weekend Wrap Up

Today’s run: 9.5 miles with the Director of our Training Program and East Bay Head Coach, from the Panhandle through Golden Gate Park to Ocean Beach, back through GGP, Kezar, and Haight Street.

Although I religiously do my long runs on Saturdays, I switched it up this weekend and procrastinated until Sunday since Saturday was so busy! Yesterday was the 26-week training program kick-off! I woke up at around 5:30, made my way down to the Sports Basement Presidio, and set up the tent, t-shirts, check-in, etc with Libby and Abe. The pacers showed up at around 7:30 and shortly after, the trainees started to arrive. We were so lucky to get a break from the rain we’ve been having lately- the trainees got a nice 3 mile run in.  We had a meeting, handed out their gear, and had a shoe seminar at Sports Basement.  It was an awesome morning, the group had a lot of new runners, experienced runners, and in between.  There was a lot of excitement as we started goal setting for the 2010 marathon!

We were so exhausted after the morning, I headed home and took a long nap in hopes of going for my run later in the afternoon. I must have been more tired than I realized because I slept for hours. When I woke up, I decided to run the next morning with the Abe and Dave. My roommate and I met up with some friends for a birthday celebration at La Parilla Grill on Polk Street, their Shrimp and Avocado salad was delicious!

This morning I ran about a mile down along the panhandle to meet up with the guys. We ran at a steady pace, and made our way to the beach. We ran a nice 9.5/10 miles and I peeled off towards my place as we passed through my neighborhood. I picked up a coffee and the Sunday paper, and headed home. It was the perfect start to a my Sunday.

Run Happy!

sabrina

Leave a Reply

