First Track Workout!

Today’s Run: SF Marathon Training Program Track Workout
Workout: Warm Up Laps, Dynamic Stretching, Sprinting, Relays, and Cool-Down

Today, the morning started off perfectly.  Our team is a fun bunch, so we have some little traditions that we observe that make The SF Marathon a great place to work.  One tradition is our weekly “Wednesday Breakfast”.  I came in this morning to find our Race Director Libby whipping up some honey yogurt waffles on a waffle maker in the conference room.  They were part whole wheat waffles, and we topped them with Blueberries, Banana, Mango, Honey, and Yogurt.  Yummm!  Good thing she left our office mascot (Dublin the Chocolate lab) at home- he’d have been all over the yummy feast!

After breakfast I got to work on our February Newsletter.  I’m pretty excited about it- we’ve included a great healthy recipe, a runner highlight, and info on an exciting new program which will be revealed in a few days!  We were all jamming to our Pandora stations (we take turns picking) and enjoying the day.  Lunchtime rolled around and a few people from the group made a trip to the local farmer’s market.  This is a recently added weekly tradition- so exciting since I love farmer’s markets.  This is one of the few that is open on a weekday.

Around 6, I jumped on the Muni and headed to Kezar for the first track workout.  I arrived a few minutes late, and the group was listening to the Track Coach talk about what to expect on Wednesdays, etc.  We got started a few minutes later with a few warm-up laps around the track.  Next the pacers led some dynamic stretching and exercises.  Once we were warmed up, we headed down to the track and did some sprinting and a team relay.  The relay was so much fun- we were in random groups so I got to know a few of the trainees.  Everyone’s story is so different, some runners were veterans who’d run lots of marathons, and some were walkers who had never done a road race.  The teams were yelling and cheering during the relay, everyone was really supportive, and not too competitive.  Finally the pacers led us around the track a few more times  to cool down.

Everyone I met at the workout tonight was awesome- I can already tell this is going to be a great group.  I can be a little bit shy at first, so going into a new group like this is a little intimidating for me (even though I know some of them through work, most of these faces are new to me too!).  But I’m really excited about these track nights because it will really give me a chance to work on my speed and improve my running.

I came home and my roommate had made the most delicious recipe from a cooking blog we read- Pinch My Salt.  I loved this squash recipe because squash is a great source of potassium with WAY less sugar than a banana.  Potassium is essential in recovering sore muscles.  And its just tasty. 🙂

Run Happy

sabrina

Leave a Reply

