Why I won’t sleep for 24-hours

Some of your know me well enough to understand how crazy I am, but for those of you who don’t –  In 2009 I decided that on May 21-22, 2010 I am going to run for 24-hours and raise money for cancer research.

On January 9, 2010 I began my training for my 24-hour run to raise $25,000 for cancer research.  Why you ask, here is only part of the story.

My Reason to Fight Cancer

I want to see an end to cancer during my lifetime.  We all have family, friends, and colleagues who have battled cancer. In the past year, I’ve seen a good high-school friend, Tim, take on the challenge of lifetime, brain and neck cancer; he spends more time in the hospital than he does at home. Mike, the guy I blame for getting me hooked on running, has battled and so far has beaten Multiple Myeloma because of research money from the American Cancer Society.

On May 21, 2010 I’m going to personally run for 24-hours straight to raise $25,000 for the American Cancer Society. Why? After watching the battles Tim and Mike are going through I don’t want to see any more of my friends, loved ones, family, or colleagues have to battle this ugly disease.  During the 24-hours I’m running I’ll feel tired, sick, and will want to give up.  But, what will drive me to finish is that no matter how I feel it is for 1-day of my life, people battling cancer have these feelings everyday.  So, for 1-day I’m going to live the motto of the Relay for Life: Cancer Never Sleeps, why should I.

Here is how you can help me. I’m going to do all the training, that means on Saturdays I’ll be running for 8-10 hours straight and Sundays 4-6 hours, plus running a few other days during the week. I’m not going to ask you to train with me, but rather open up your heart and your checkbook and make a generous donation to the cause.  As you are making your donation remember your friends, family, and colleagues who have battled this disease and the donation you are making may be the dollars that find the cure.

Your efforts will help the American Cancer Society fund groundbreaking cancer research, provide up-to-date cancer information, advocate for all people to have access to screening and treatment, and offer free programs and services to improve the quality of life for people facing cancer.

My Donation Page

Failure is not an option!

Leave a Reply

