Sweaty Style: Jiu-Jitsu Josh – Marina Green

I was running on the Marina Green and bumped into Josh, a Jui-Jitsu fighter.  Josh runs 4-6 miles a few times a week to stay in shape for combat.  I was struck by his red, green, and black ensemble — he was coordinated head-to-toe, tattoos and all.  He had a wonderfully appealing and offbeat personality to match his apparel…. learn more about him below….




Where did you grow up?
Novato, CA
Where did you live?
I’ve lived in Truckee, San Francisco, and Sandpoint, Idaho
What is your personal soundtrack at the moment?
TV on the Radio – Wolf Like Me
Band of Horses – The Funeral
Why? – The Vowels Pt. 2
Dead to Me – Goodbye Regret
Iron Maiden – Aces High
Wu-Tang Clan – Thug World
Heads Will Roll – Yeah Yeah Yeahs
Love You All – Cloud Cult
Your zodiac sign?
Aquarius
Who is your style icon?
Tom Selleck circa 1984 no question.
What do you do or what would you like to do when you grow up?
When I grow up I want to live a simple life in the Portuguese countryside and teach kids jiu-jitsu classes.
Where do you workout?
Rocha Jiu-Jitsu in Oakland & Justin Chin is my personal trainer in SF.
What motivates you to do Jui-Jitsu?
The primitive human instinct to fight or kill. I don’t play video games or start fights in bars.
Combat sports in general provide healthy outlet for focused aggression. I’m a much happier and more pleasant person when I’m training everyday.
Who did your tattoos?
Theo Mindell at Spider Murphy’s Tattoo in San Rafael.
Relationship status? (sorry my co-worker insisted I ask)
I have an amazing girlfriend. She’d tell you it’s an entirely overrated experience
Leave a Reply

